top of page

The Wolf by Tina Edwards

The Wolf

lie me down to sleep among entrails that carpet

your lair skeletons of loved ones shrivelled skins

left by banished snakes on cold stone ground

round and round we dance in wild frenzy

wrap yourself around me in dark coat feather warm

on naked skin caress me with gentle touch

I drink you breathe you ride the drug that howls

on the dark side of the moon

when the alpha male returns looking for more snakes

lays down his gauntlet I will peel back layers

searching for his tail cover my nose suffocate

in dreams the best I've ever had

Tina Edwards lives in the rural and coastal county of North Somerset. A keen walker and keeper of ducks she is a new poet recently published by Indigo Dreams Publishing in Reach Poetry and Flowers in the Machine a Science Project by Poetry Kit. She has also been published online in the USA by Poetry Super Highway for the 19th Annual Holocaust Remembrance Day Poetry Issue with her poem Deep in the Forest.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page